24
Nov
11

claudio alba a.k.a. simply1man :: urban visions


A selection of photos by Claudio Alba a.k.a. simply1man



^

untitled


^

untitled


^

X_cross


^

DSC03963


^

QUARTIERE FIERISTIC


^

il “Treno” (quartiere Barca) 1957-62 – Arch. Giuseppe Vaccaro


DSC02674 bw

^

DSC02674 bw



– Hi, Claudio. How would you describe this set of images?
– I think this selection is highly representative of my approach to architectural photography: oblique camera angles and sequences of parallel planes. All highlighted by cuts of light and shadows.


– As a photographer, what do you find interesting about urban environments and architecture? What usually attracts your visual attention?
– -I live in a city, Bologna, whose original medieval old town is a jewel of harmony. For my photographic work however, I am attracted to the outskirts of towns, which are chaotic and squalid. I love to seek and capture individual elements or perspectives that unveil an unobtrusive appearance or aestethic.


– Which other photographic styles do you like besides architectural and urban photography?
-Photography of interiors: I am an interior designer and often use photography to document my work.


– What motivates you to be busy with photography, what is your goal as a photographer?
-Like many amateur photographers who grew up on “chemical” photography, digital technology has rekindled a passion in me which was neglected due to a lack of time to devote in the darkroom. My intention is to turn my hobby into a business tied to to interior design publishing sector.


– Do you have a ‘dream location’ where you would like to take photos? which city would you like to visit for a photo session? Which city would you like to visit for a photo session?
– I particularly find Luis Barragan’s Mexican architectures very photogenic. For opposite reasons I am intrigued by public housing estates in the ex-communist countries.


– What is your favorite camera?
– I’m currently using a Sony A900 with a Minolta 16-35 zoom. I will soon have a Minolta 20mm.


– Did you publish any photo books and where do you expose your works on internet?
– I worked on the images for a book dedicated to the “La Certosa” historical ceemetery in Bologna. An exhibition is being prepared. I have also provided images for interior design magazines both in print and online.


-Thank you, Claudio. I wish you success with your photography.


1 Response to “claudio alba a.k.a. simply1man :: urban visions”


  1. 1 gherm
    January 30, 2012 at 10:12 pm

    Your photos are empty of human beings but full of art!


Comments are currently closed.