04
Nov
11

jacob schere :: geometrical urban wabi sabi


A selection of photos by Jacob Schere



Green Tiled International Reflection

^

Green Tiled International Reflection


2Shirts, Squares and Rectangles

^

2Shirts, Squares and Rectangles


The Sun Will Come Out at Night

^

The Sun Will Come Out at Night


Fish Door Knob Window

^

Fish Door Knob Window


From this Window, Peace on Earth

^

From this Window, Peace on Earth


Rectangular Wabi Sabi, Shimbash 新橋

^

Rectangular Wabi Sabi, Shimbash 新橋


Door Mailbox Window Squared

^

Door Mailbox Window Squared



– Hi, Jacob. How would you describe this set of images?
– They are an exploration of Japanese daily elements in the form of shape, textures, and aging. I like to think about how these elements are interconnected and without them the urban world would be a boring place to inhabit. I like to find the simple beauty in the most everyday places.


– As a photographer, what do you find interesting about urban environments and architecture? What usually attracts your visual attention?
– My lens eye sees in a square format. I like to see how all the geometry fits with in the square, and how does this square fit into its surroundings. A lot of the shitamachi (literally downtown, or old parts of town) have a lot of character. There was an enormous effort to rebuild Tokyo after WWII and the firebombing. Certain kinds of tiles, and corrugated metal were used as a means to build quick and cheaply. I am a sucker for the color tiles. The colors and hues just tell me the time that they were made. Another point with architecture is that humans create these places to be used. I am attracted to the buildings that show the presence of human’s touch, without having to see the humans.


– Which other photographic styles do you like besides architectural and urban photography?
– Recently, since I returned to Japan in the post earthquake and tsunami of March 11, my attention has turned to a subject that I never thought I would photograph – nature. For me nature, and especially, blossoms, became a sign of hope. Photographing nature was a way to escape the terrible shaking that we were having everyday in Japan. We were being reminded on a daily basis that the earth is alive and full of destructive power. I wanted to remind myself, and those that viewed my images, that there is an abundance of beauty in the natural world. I am trying to find a method that works those two opposing energies in the natural world.

I also do love doing somewhat straight documentary work. Especially, when I travel to Miami, Florida. I spend a lot of time with musicians and artists in the Hip Hop community because of my brother, hip hop educator and emcee, Brimstone127. I like to work around the people, and catch the liveliness of their vibrations without doing setups, or having them pose for the camera.


– What motivates you to be busy with photography, what is your goal as a photographer?
– I have had a camera in my hand for so long I do not know what it is like NOT to have one. I do know this that through constant striving for perfection in my photography helps me to participate in the world. I want to share with others what I see in this world. Hopefully my worldview will find those out there that share similar or even opposing views. I hope that my images with encourage the viewers to engage in lucid communication.


– Do you have a ‘dream location’ where you would like to take photos? which city would you like to visit for a photo session? Which city would you like to visit for a photo session?
– There are a few places. One is Jerusalem. I would love to spend an extended period of time photographing in that city and its surrounding areas. It would be returning to the source. Spending time in that city would benefit my soul as well as my photography.


– What is your favorite camera?
– That is easy, it was my Ricoh GRII digital camera, which I used for more than 3 years. Just about 2 weeks ago I got the Ricoh GRIV. It is compact camera with an amazing lens and can shoot square.


– Did you publish any photo books and where do you expose your works on internet?
– I run my own website and blog. I have committed myself to writing more about my work. I am currently rethinking how I approach the Lucid communication website and its focus will expand to include other photographers, reviews, and discussions on the state of photography. I want to share other photographers that inspire me like Brancolina and give the world a view of the amazing work that is out there.

lucidcommunication.com



– Thanks a lot, Jacob. All the best with your photography and the Lucid communication.


11 Responses to “jacob schere :: geometrical urban wabi sabi”


  1. November 4, 2011 at 8:54 am

    Thank you so much Brancolina for introducing me to Jacob’s sensitive work. I enjoy the fact that, as he says, his eye sees in squares and I really appreciate the geometry he finds within the urban environment. I also like the tones he achieves in the processed images. Everything points so well to the wabi sabi aesthetic. Great work, Jacob, and thanks again, Brancolina.

  2. November 5, 2011 at 4:33 am

    brancolina

    i feel honored to have been selected for inclusion in the
    red square gallery.

    i hope that this is just the beginning

    peace

    jacob

  3. 3 GRANT SIMON ROGERS
    November 7, 2011 at 12:11 pm

    A beautiful selection of Photographs.

  4. 5 Françoise Lucas
    November 7, 2011 at 6:53 pm

    A beautiful selection. Your compositions are always a feast! Thank you both.

  5. November 13, 2011 at 9:47 pm

    Greetings to Jacob and thanks to everyone for visits and commenting.

  6. 8 garrymoore
    November 26, 2011 at 6:29 pm

    hi to all redsquaregallery.wordpress.comers this is my first post and thought i would say hello to you all –
    thank yous speak soon
    garry moore

  7. 9 gherm
    January 30, 2012 at 10:04 pm

    I like your sense of urban geometry!


Comments are currently closed.