24
Jul
11

Paolo Cagliero a.k.a. louisdead :: we can’t be perfect


A selection of photos from Paolo Cagliero a.k.a. louisdead


sliced by highway

^

Sliced by highway


primary

^

Primary


waiting for the final

^

Waiting for the final


turn left

^

Turn left


broken perfection

^

Broken perfection


pitfall

^

Pitfall


too sunny

^

Too sunny


zapatos, 1

^

Zapatos



– Hello, Paolo. How would you describe this set of images?
– Thanks Brancolina, interesting selection, now I’ve got something to learn from my own shots!
I’m usually very careful about geometric composition. And these pictures are very geometric, but with an element that brakes the rigid composition: a car, an architectonic cut, a broken tile, a pair of shoes… These details give me an ironic sense of failure, as if we were declaring our imperfection. All these pictures should have the following caption: "we can’t be perfect".


– As a photographer, what do you find interesting about urban environments and architecture? What attracts your visual attention?
– When I think about the urban environment, I immediately think about people living there, even if in my photographies you will rarely see human beings. Everything but a non-sense.
I studied architecture but I’m not interested in architecture in itself. In an empty square I try to catch the empty, not the square. Or at least, its geometric skeleton.


– Which other photographic styles do you like besides architectural and urban photography?
– It’s hard for me to choose between a great minimal landscape and a great reportage portrait. I admire who can do both (not me).
Anyway it’s easier to say what I don’t like. I’m not interested in photographies overcome by technology in general (Photoshop, HDR, HiDef Macro, mega photography studio set, etc…)


– What motivates you to be busy with photography, what is your goal as a photographer?
– For me it’s just like a psychotherapy, but cheaper!
It really helps me to survive the chaos of ugly architectures all around me.
Taking shots is a way to find a formal beauty in everything, even in the ugliest one. It’s often like a game where I try to catch basic geometric shapes in the real world, or a strict geometric composition, or fake collisions between objects, ect. These are all methods used to organize disordered things, me first.



– Do you have a ‘dream location’ where you would like to take photos? Which city would you like to visit for a photo session?
– Not one in particular. Every city, even the smallest, can hide a precious treasure. And after all I don’t care about the main architectural landmarks, photographically speaking.


– What is your favorite camera?
– I’m not a camera fetish, I care more about the photo than the medium. Now I’m using a consumer reflex Canon, but I’d like to turn back to analogic and get a medium format like a Rolleiflex. Just to stop cropping to get a square format🙂, my loved one.



– Did your photos get published in any photo/art-books or magazines and where do you expose your works on internet (website, blog …)?
– My photos have been published only on the internet.
Apart from my Flickr account and Five Minutes Monsters (another photographic project I’m gonna start these days), some of them are on sale on GettyImages, others are published on some blogs like Mykriteek (here and here), Troppotardi (here and here), State Elements, Shambola, Italian Casual and Quidanoi. That’s all, as far as I know.

I’d like to thank you once again for hosting me on this amazing blog.



– You are very welcome, Paolo. I wish you all the best with your photographic work.


10 Responses to “Paolo Cagliero a.k.a. louisdead :: we can’t be perfect”


  1. 1 gherm
    July 24, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    I like your geometric city!
    Congrats to you and Lina!

  2. 3 carlos pataca
    July 26, 2011 at 7:17 pm

    love the work , there is so much “relations” and lawyers in the images that they ask for attention and time. The composition and the structure are impeccable. great selection, wonderful work.

  3. July 26, 2011 at 11:43 pm

    Your work is very interesting, did not know it. I loved your concept of failure and particularly how you deal harmoniously with different textures. Congrats, wonderful work!
    Congrats Lina for this great selection!

  4. August 3, 2011 at 12:20 pm

    The work of Paolo Cagliero is quite extraordinary.

    I am not familiar with his work and am delighted to get to know some of his excellent pieces. I find it deliciously light and refreshing. It seems that no matter what he photographs, Paolo seems to make every flavour work in an extra sharpness and a magical display of vivid perception.

    As a keen lover of geometrical forms, I have a tendency to agree with his maxim “Nothing is perfect” . Yet the contrast in his minimalist landscapes has a strange desolate beauty that seems to be stripped of humankind. Totally honest about what he sees — straight shooting; as he allows himself to become more available to the things around him without the biases, filters and formulas often associated with photography.

    It has been a pleasure to get acquainted with his stylistic excellence and find a huge amount of inspiration in his photography.

    Congratulations Paolo for your insightful work, and to Brancolina for an excellent selection.

    RM

    • August 4, 2011 at 9:26 am

      Rob! I’ve just taken a look at your work and I’m really impressed!
      Your pictures are pure geometry, the essence of architecture, real masterpieces.
      That’s why I’m so honoured that you left such a beautiful comment.
      Thank you very much, your kind support is like fresh air.

  5. 8 mluisa_
    August 6, 2011 at 9:07 am

    Did not know your work, but love this exhibition.
    Am going to see your other work now too…

    Thank you Paolo…thank you Lina !

  6. August 8, 2011 at 7:23 pm

    thanks for your visits and commenting


Comments are currently closed.