03
Apr
11

mluisa :: impressions of MAXXI in Rome


Selection of photos from mluisa


^

Untitled (2010)


MAXXI - Roma

^

MAXXI-Roma (2010)


a partire dal cemento....

^

A pertire dal cemento … (2010)

Sbloccata !!!!

^

Sbloccata !!! (2010)


assoluto

^

Assoluto (2010)


^

MAXXI (2010)


– Hello, Maria Luisa. How would you describe this set of images?
– All these photos are taken on the outside of MAXXI, Museum of Arts of the XXI Century, in Rome. I tried to highlight the fluid shapes of the building designed by Zaha Hadid, the soft plasticity of concrete and its relationship with the surrounding space. In these photos I did not focus on the building as an architecture, but I tried more to catch it almost like a sculpture.


– As a photographer, what do you find interesting about urban environments and architecture?
What attracts your visual attention?

– I am trained as an architect, then it is the concept of space that interests me most of all. I’m interested in its quality and “representabiliy” in the two dimensions allowed by photography. I’m also interested in the relationship between space and people who inhabit it, and the ability to transform it with their presence or absence. I’m fascinated by the ambiguous relationship that exists between “inside” and “outside”.


– Which other photographic styles do you like besides architectural and urban photography?
– I am always interested in visual arts and I’m passionate about photographing the works in museums in relation to their users. Sometimes I tie my research to a surreal representation of space, as an “extension” of my basic themes (space, art, human use, inside and out), made by imagination.


– What motivates you to be busy with photography, what is your goal as a photographer?
– I have always drawn, painted, molded, and now I photograph. Photography is a daily activity for me. I‘d like to learn how to use it and respond more closely to my expressive needs, and try to never exhaust the flow of inspiration it gives me.


– Do you have a ‘dream location’ where you would like to take photos? Which city would you like to visit for a photo session?
– I often find my “dream location” in a corner of my house, or in the European cities I frequently visit … but the city that I would really like to photograph is Detroit. I’m interested in its spectacular and tragic decadence, comparable, for its dramatic intensity, only perhaps to that of Berlin in “Germany Year Zero”, by Roberto Rossellini.


– What is your favorite camera?
– I have always tried and used Nikon’s. My preferred camera is usually the most recent Nikon.


– Did you publish any photo books and where do you expose your works on internet?
– I only expose on Flickr, but some of my photos are on Getty images, in Shadé and Shadé#2 photo books by Brancolina and in the first issue of Doze Magazine.


– Thank you, Maria Luisa and all the best with your photographic work.


19 Responses to “mluisa :: impressions of MAXXI in Rome”


  1. April 4, 2011 at 2:08 am

    I admire Maria Luisa’s sense of geometry and forms. Her compositions not only define light, textures and contrasts, but also the interaction of curves, lines and elements. There is a created balance of shared and more intimate spaces incorporating a balance of united and intimate spaces of sleek lines incorporating a solid presence and ambience.

    21ST Century architecture has been released into a whole new series of meanings unknown to the previous histories.

    The results are astounding as she strives to achieve a visual of the highest quality and consistency!

    Thank you for sharing these delightful of contemporary architecture…

    Best wishes for the future Maria Luisa.

    Robert

  2. 2 donald verry
    April 4, 2011 at 7:48 am

    I very much admire Maria Luisa’s work on Flickr. Even though she produces stunning images over a range of subjects, I think you have made a good decision to limit the selection to MAXXI which gives a strong unity to the gallery. Interesting interview also.

  3. April 4, 2011 at 1:51 pm

    Beautiful architectural images. With fantastic forms and an almost transparant quality. Didn’t know Mlouisa is an architect, but I am not at all surprised! :-)) Good work, good selection.

  4. 4 avril
    April 4, 2011 at 5:27 pm

    Fine series.I am an admirer of Maria Luisa’s work. I like her explanation about the way she has looked at the building: like a sculpture.Very interesting!

  5. April 6, 2011 at 2:40 am

    She became a reference in flickr community, and that says a lot about her work.

  6. April 7, 2011 at 1:43 pm

    Maria Luisa ranks among my favorite all time photographers – she is true to her craft and consistent all the way. This is a beautiful homage and I praise you on your curating abilities.

    Julian Escardo

  7. 7 mluisa_
    April 12, 2011 at 5:01 pm

    Many thanks to all, dear friends

    Maria Luisa

  8. April 12, 2011 at 8:42 pm

    thank you for visits and commenting

  9. 9 mluisa_
    April 12, 2011 at 10:38 pm

    Especially thanks to you, Lina

    Maria Luisa

  10. April 28, 2011 at 5:35 pm

    so pure …. this is the first word that comes to my mind looking at this amazing collection of images … marial luisa is such a sensitive, intelligent and clever photographer. Looking at her work always gives me emotion and inspiration – thank you!🙂

  11. 12 mluisa_
    April 30, 2011 at 3:42 pm

    Grazie a te Rita !

  12. 13 elen@c
    May 3, 2011 at 7:42 pm

    un ottima scelta a rappresentare un’ ottimo fotografo !
    Brava mluisa_

  13. 14 mluisa_
    May 4, 2011 at 7:14 am

    Mille grazie Elena.

  14. 15 Gherm
    May 15, 2011 at 10:20 am

    Je connaissais la plupart de ces belles images. J’apprécie de les voir ici réunies par Lina. Le Maxxi méritait une telle exposition !

  15. 16 Françoise Lucas
    May 15, 2011 at 11:44 am

    Une très belle série! J’ai beaucoup aimé lire l’interview.

  16. 17 mluisa_
    May 25, 2011 at 5:24 pm

    Merci beaucoup à tous les deux

  17. August 6, 2011 at 11:48 am

    l’architettura è nel mio curriculum, la grafica nel mio lavoro, l’arte nella passione che pervade le altre. qui ritrovo tutte e tre e ne sono affascinato. quanto mi piacciono i tuoi lavori…

  18. 19 mluisa_
    August 7, 2011 at 10:01 am

    Grazie Paolo, sono felice di avere avuto, grazie a Lina, l’occasione di incontrare il tuo lavoro..


Comments are currently closed.