23
Jun
11

carlos pataca :: escaping the obvious


A selection of photos by Carlos Pataca



bstraction on stairs 1 by carlos pataca, on Flickr

^

Abstraction on stairs 1


abstraction on stairs 8 by carlos pataca, on Flickr

^

Abstraction on stairs 8


abstraction on stairs 9

^

Abstraction on stairs 9


lrng wth zl nns (parabéns, pelos próximos...)

^

lrng wth zl nns (parabéns, pelos próximos…)


back to architecture - amsterdam

^

Back to architecture – Amsterdam


recorte 20 by carlos pataca, on Flickr

^

Recorte 20


abstraction on stairs 3 by carlos pataca, on Flickr

^

Abstraction on stairs 3



– Hello, Carlos. How would you describe this set of images?
– Four of these images are about the possibilities that stairs, as an architectural element, offer to create abstract images. Stairs are sculptures that seduce the eye and are visually very easy to manipulate and transform. I was exercising that. “Back to architecture…” and “Recorte” are more abstract registers of buildings and “Lrng wth zl nns” is an old one that I posted for a friend (Zel Nunes) and doesn’t really “belong” to the series. But in all of them I was trying to escape the obvious of an architectonic register (photography NEVER could represent the experience that someone has when he is in and around a building) and trying to translate the architectonic object in a new “thing”, where poetry was part of the tectonic substance of the photo.


– As a photographer, what do you find interesting about urban environments and architecture? What attracts your visual attention?
– Architecture and urbanism are my work fields. I have been busy with them as a teacher and a designer for 26 years… And photography gives me the chance of commenting, analysing, criticizing and transforming the subject in images while I’m trying to translate what I see in a new experience. Of course, architecture also offers an immense range of possibilities on structures, plasticity, contrasts, colours, tectonics, abstraction, all elements to create great compositions. But just to create a beautiful image does not interest me. The beauty is a bonus. I am trying to reach a kind of “research of the way to see” underneath the surface of the image.


– Which other photographic styles do you like besides architectural and urban photography?
– I am trying everything. I give myself the freedom to exercise in all styles. But I intend to spend more time on abstracts, portraits and still life.


– What motivates you to be busy with photography, what is your goal as a photographer?
– I started to photograph not so long ago, a little more than a year, before that I used just to push a button for a register. But since I start to work less as an urban planner I found photography a good instrument to be connected again with my discipline (architecture and urbanism) and that in relation with my vision of poetry, aesthetics and criticism. I don’t have a specific goal besides the fact that I use photography to see better. To think deeper about what I see and to create images that could translate my way of seeing.


– Do you have a ‘dream location’ where you would like to take photos? Which city would you like to visit for a photo session?
– I don’t believe in dream locations. I do think that our direct surroundings offer enough material to produce good photo’s. But I do have a list of favourite architects of whose buildings I would still like to photograph. In this list I have David Chipperfield, Steven Holl, Wiel Arets, Alvaro Siza, Luis Barragan… it is a long list!


– What is your favourite camera?
– I work with a Panasonic DMC- ZC7 (I don’t leave my house without it, it became part of my body!) and I use also a Sony DCLR A-290. But to speak about a favourite will be difficult because I still haven’t decided to invest in a really good camera.


– Did your photos get published in any photo/art-books or magazines and where do you expose your works on internet (website, blog …) ?
– I still didn’t exhibit or publish my photos. The only place that I post them is on Flickr and Hydepark photography, since short. One of my photo’s was chosen as a cover for a book about city planning and I am waiting for more commissions.


– Thank you and all the best with your photographic work.


14 Responses to “carlos pataca :: escaping the obvious”


  1. June 23, 2011 at 10:35 am

    I am truly delighted to be the first to congratulate Carlos on this well documented collection of some of his best architectural abstractions; some of which- I am ashamed to say – I was not acquainted with.

    Through the works figured above, we journey into the stylistic world of the architectural landscapes: formal concepts of his own individualism and symbolic representation.

    This accolade is well deserved. The evolution of Carlos’s photographic works have developed into a stylish form of neo-impressionism in architectural photography – a new (rationalist) approach in style that is equally expressionistic and more adequately captured by his keen eye. Interestingly, from the earlier days of my acquaintance with him on this site, I have gradually followed this directional progression.

    He’s clearly a visionary artist in the broadest sense of the term: someone with a unique and distinctive vision of the world about us that expresses that vision through his art.

    It is indeed with great pleasure that I wish him all the success he deserves.

    Un abrazo Carlos. What a buzz for you!

    Saludos mi amigo!

    Rob

    • 2 carlos pataca
      June 26, 2011 at 12:37 pm

      Thanks to all for your visit, kind words, encouragement and in a way patience for my boldness, and errors. and I repeat that I have learned with you all.

  2. 3 gherm
    June 23, 2011 at 12:29 pm

    Abstraction and architecture, great subject… and great exhibition, too!
    Congratulations to Carlos and Lina!

  3. 4 Augusto rosa
    June 23, 2011 at 5:35 pm

    It is about time for Carlos to have an exhibition of his excellent body of work. Nicely curated by Lina!
    Stairs are the ultimate actor on the architectural drama as seen here!
    Congratulations to Both!

  4. 5 mluisa_
    June 23, 2011 at 5:47 pm

    I like the photographic work of Carlos , I believe that he have a great strength in the composition.
    Also I am convinced that the photo cannot really represent the architecture and then it needs to adapt the photographic representation and to turn the architecture into something of other.
    I strongly share the way with which this artist looks and photographer.
    I appreciate a lot this selection of his works.

    Thanks Lina

  5. June 23, 2011 at 9:00 pm

    O que esta pequena colecção revela é uma invulgar capacidade para a composição e para a apropriação da cor e das formas. Em todas elas é bem perceptível a sensibilidade de artista.

  6. 7 Françoise Lucas
    June 23, 2011 at 10:14 pm

    Beautiful choice for a diversitiy of ways of looking at architecture. Wonderful work Carlos and Lina.

  7. June 23, 2011 at 11:51 pm

    I have been learning from Carlos’ work from a time now and all I can say is that he has already printed a personal mark wherever he exhibits his work, be it on social netwoks or virtual exhibitions. Despite the fact that he has just started to photograph for a year or so, one can immediately recognize his images and that’s one thing that every photographer aims for.
    Thanks Lina for the excellent selection.
    Thanks Carlos for your talent.

  8. 9 Polah2006
    June 24, 2011 at 2:29 pm

    What can I say say about Carlos Patica’s work. Grandiose, I suppose. And a very good selection made by Brancolina.

  9. 10 Jeroen Boonstra
    June 26, 2011 at 6:37 pm

    I really love these photographes. Can gaze at them for minutes each and drift away. Beautiful !

  10. June 26, 2011 at 10:37 pm

    As a privileged witness of the first steps of Carlos in photography, it’s a great pleasure to follow his evolution in this art!! He is so talented and creative, that it seems photography has always been part of his life. He has a unique look over his surroundings, specially over architecture. His abstractions show us other ways to look at things, always surprising and stimulating us.
    This is a nice selection of some of his great works!
    Carlos, congratulations for your talent!! Thanks for your friendship!!

  11. June 27, 2011 at 11:29 am

    Carlos inspires me in my own photography, sometimes I find myself trying to see my subject how Carlos would see it…! I see him as a true artist that can shuffle between mediums with effortless effort. Great to see photographers that are not inhibited by the confines of a little box and a push of a button, producing moments that intrigue, question and satisfy the viewer. Let’s see more!

  12. July 4, 2011 at 6:49 am

    Thank you for visits and commenting

  13. 14 jurek d.
    August 13, 2011 at 5:44 pm

    There are several real gems in this collection… Inspiring!


Comments are currently closed.