04
Dec
11

anna leporati serrao a.k.a. pannaphoto :: urban visions


A selection of photos by Anna Leporati Serrao a.k.a. pannaphotos



TO STEVE JOBS

^

to steve jobs


^

urban forestation


^

il condominio spagnolo


^

making the grades


crossed perspective

^

crossed perspective


dead end street 2

^

dead end street


– Hello, Anna. How would you describe this selection of photos?
– First of all I want to thank you for this kind invitation. All chosen images have been taken during some recent trips of mine around Europe. The first one, a tribute to the genius of Steve Jobs, is certainly my best-loved. I think this set shows, in a different way, my photographic approach to urban environment. To summarize, my love for strong contrasts of light, sometimes geometric shapes or incongruencies.

– As a photographer, what do you find interesting about urban environments and architecture? What usually attracts your visual attention?
– Urban environment is the stage where contemporary people spend most of their time. My aim is to photographically document the fragility, the loneliness, the uncertainty of humans in the relationship with their environment. Sometimes I like to break the composition rules in order to create a tension and something that is not so easy to visually read. Regarding architecture, it’s known that architects are nowadays considered “stars” and that all the photographers are terribly fascinated by their creations all over the world. I am visually attracted by geometry, shapes, lines, rhythms, contrasts, negative spaces, juxtapositions, ambiguities … which are the elements that all photographers so much love in this kind of subject.

– Which other photographic styles do you like besides architectural and urban photography?
– Abstractions, minimal works, sometimes portraits, I love the surreal world too … perhaps it’s easier for me to say what I don’t like, or better, what I’m not so good about: landscapes – up to now, of course. I hope to improve.

– What motivates you to be busy with photography, what is your goal as a photographer?
– Passion is the main motivation! I can’t spend a day without taking photographs or processing my shots, reading some books about photography, surfing on the internet or looking for exhibitions. I know it’s a kind of fixed idea, but I can’t help it. My goal is to create a perfect image and I’m going to continue looking for it.

– Do you have a ‘dream location’ where you would like to take photos? which city would you like to visit for a photo session?
– I love to challenge my creative ability everywhere. Each place, with its own identity, can be inspiring but, at the top of my desire list, it’s Basel where there is a concentration of good museums and architectural beauties, especially Vitra Campus in Weil-am-Rhein. Besides It would be fantastic to return to some unforgettable towns especially Paris, Barcelona, New York, London, Valencia …

– What is your favorite camera?
– In the past I worked with 2 compact cameras, a Casio Exilim and a Canon Powershot G9. I now own a Nikon D90 with two lenses. If I buy a new camera I’ll choose a Canon 5d Mark II.

– Did you publish any photo books and where do you expose your works on internet?
– Two years ago I published a book on Blurb Out of Focus, soon I’m going to make another one. Some of my works are on sale on Getty Images and in the past I took part in three collective exhibitions and I’ve been also the curator together with some friends. Recently I’ve joined Google+, but I’m still not so frequent there, so my photographs are mainly exposed on Flickr. Thank you again!


12 Responses to “anna leporati serrao a.k.a. pannaphoto :: urban visions”


  1. 1 Françoise Lucas
    December 5, 2011 at 10:43 pm

    Greatly inspiring. Thank you Anna and Lina.

  2. December 7, 2011 at 4:23 pm

    Great selection, shows the intelligence and versatility of Anna’s work.
    Thank you both!

  3. December 10, 2011 at 5:27 pm

    Ciao Anna, seguo il tuo lavoro anche su Flickr, questa galleria è veramente meritata. Complimenti per il tuo lavoro dove composizione rigorosa si unisce ad un minimalismo senza però essere mai freddo e asettico. Mi ci ritrovo molto nelle tue immagini. And obiouvsly thanks again to Lina!

  4. 7 elen@c
    December 19, 2011 at 9:18 am

    Magnifica galleria,
    meritatissima ….. complimenti ANNA !!!!

  5. January 9, 2012 at 12:13 pm

    Such an xcellent selection of some most inspiring works, all of which are enlightening. Yet, each work still belongs to the world of form, because it consists of structuring artistic thought and creating thought structures.

    Una splendida galleria.

    Grazie Anna e anche Lina.

    Ciao. Roberto

  6. 9 carlos pataca
    January 9, 2012 at 3:12 pm

    This selection shows a sensitive and intelligent photographer. I really love her work. Thanks Anna and Brancolina.

  7. 10 wilma eras
    January 9, 2012 at 3:23 pm

    Love this selection!

  8. January 25, 2012 at 10:14 pm

    anna is a great artist, I adore her work because it … speaks to me! congratulations on your fantastic work, my dear friend!

  9. 12 gherm
    January 30, 2012 at 10:14 pm

    I know all your photos and I like them, this exhibition is a “florilège”, brava Anna !


Comments are currently closed.