23
Apr
11

galaad :: light, shapes and order


Selection of photos from galaad


Perfection et chimères

Perfection et chimères (2010)

“Il y a assez de lumière pour ceux qui ne désirent que de voir, et assez d’obscurité pour ceux qui ont une disposition contraire.” Blaise Pascal

Ravel

Le monde aurait pu être simple comme le ciel et la mer ...

Le monde aurait pu être simple comme le ciel et la mer … (2010)

“Ah ! Il y a tant de choses entre le ciel et la terre que les poètes sont seuls à avoir rêvées.”
Friedrich Nietzsche

Antonín Dvořák

Sortir des limites

Sortir des limites (2010)

“A mon avis, vous ne pouvez pas dire que vous avez vu quelque chose à fond si vous n’en avez pas pris une photographie.” Emile Zola

Mozart

Les vagues de la liberté

Les vagues de la liberté (2011)

“Sous les vagues, la mer est dressée, on dirait qu’elle est au ciel, Qu’elle touche et arrose les nuages qui couvrent tout.” Ovide

Tchaikovsky

Silence ... on travaille

Silence … on travaille (2009)

“L’architecture est une sorte d’oratoire de la puissance au moyen de formes.” Friedrich Nietzsche

Maria Callas

La nuit transforme les vagues

La nuit transforme les vagues (2011)

“Les vagues sont peu de choses au regard de l’océan.” Claude Lelouch

Été Canadien

Reflets en turbulence

Reflets en turbulence (2011)

“Et dans la tempête et le bruit la clarté reparaît grandie …” Victor Hugo

Barcelona


– Hello, Julian. How would you describe this set of images?
– I love this selection of pictures, because they represent everything I like in the pictures: shapes, movement and another look at the objects of everyday life. I’m pretty happy with the contrast of light and I always try to have a small corner of blue paradise on my pictures.


– As a photographer, what do you find interesting about urban environments and architecture? What attracts your visual attention?
– I think that two quotations from Le Corbusier guide my work:”Architecture is the learned game, correct and magnificent, of forms assembled in the light” and “Space and light and order. Those are the things that men need just as much as they need bread or a place to sleep.” I need light to take pictures, I need great shapes and order … after all I’m an architect.


– Which other photographic styles do you like besides architectural and urban photography?
– I love sculptures, urban sculptures, little sculptures … I’m fascinated by the sensuality of sculpture. I love to walk around the object and check every detail, to observe it as the light changes, discover other shapes, other textures, it’s really a wonderful world.


– What motivates you to be busy with photography, what is your goal as a photographer?
– My goal as a photographer is the discovery of an entire object: architectural and sculptural. To have a different vision of what we see every day. When I walk into town, I always look to the sky, the blue color fascinates me. I like taking my time during a visit to a museum or a new building, have the time to ‘tame’ the objects.


– Do you have a ‘dream location’ where you would like to take photos? Which city would you like to visit for a photo session?
– A dream ? yes I do, a big one, a country … Finland. Why ? Alvar Aalto’s work. My ultimate reference in architecture, the undisputed master.

A city ? Not really a city, maybe some ‘objets’: Frank Gehry’s Guggenheim museum in Bilbao and Disney Concert Hall in Los Angeles, Zaha Hadid’s MAXXI in Rome, Villa Adriana in Tivoli near Rome and all the giant sculptures of Henry Moore in the world …


– What is your favorite camera?
– I’ve always worked with Canon – a very good PowerShot SX10 IS – and now I have the camera of my dreams: 5D Mark II with a perfect zoom EF 100-400 mm.


– Did you publish any photo books and where do you expose your works on internet?
– I publish my images mainly on Flickr and recently on Facebook. I have not published a photo-book yet, but I’m working on my first one.

My works are published in Y sin embargo #21 magazine by Fernando Prats and in the photo-books Hypo-X-series by Azurebumble and Shadé in collaboration with you.


– Thank you, Julian and all the best with your photographic work.


17 Responses to “galaad :: light, shapes and order”


  1. 1 fp
    April 23, 2011 at 4:03 pm

    Good work as usual, Julian.

  2. 3 Gherm
    April 23, 2011 at 8:26 pm

    Cette exposition est fantastique. J’en ai pris plein les yeux !

  3. April 23, 2011 at 11:36 pm

    Wonderful work and words, Julian. Bravo!

  4. 7 Françoise Lucas
    April 24, 2011 at 1:38 pm

    Très belle exposition visuelle. Les citations et la musique la complète à merveille.

  5. 9 mluisa_
    April 24, 2011 at 3:12 pm

    Bravo.I love all your work.
    Many bthanks to you and to Lina.

  6. 11 Polah2006
    April 25, 2011 at 12:46 pm

    Wonderful Selection! Great images!

  7. April 27, 2011 at 5:11 pm

    Thank for your visit and comment, I appreciate it.

  8. April 28, 2011 at 5:28 pm

    … what an amazing collection! beautiful works, julian, congratulations!, and very interesting interview – thanks for both!

  9. April 28, 2011 at 7:10 pm

    Thanks a lot for visiting Rita … Im very happy here now ;-))

  10. 15 carlos pataca
    May 2, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    great structures, angles and moves!

  11. May 4, 2011 at 6:34 am

    thanks for your visits and commenting


Comments are currently closed.