14
Jul
11

claudia carlos magno :: urban visual poetry


Selection of photos from Claudia C. Magno



untitled by Claudia C. Magno, on Flickr

^

Untitled (2011)


untitled by Claudia C. Magno, on Flickr

^

Untitled (2010)


^

Untitled (2011)


^

Untitled (2009)


untitled by Claudia C. Magno, on Flickr

^

Untitled (2009)


untitled by Claudia C. Magno, on Flickr

^

Untitled (2009)


de cima ... by Claudia C. Magno, on Flickr

^

Untitled (2006)



– Hello, Claudia. How would you describe this set of images?
– I love your selection of photos because they show some of the elements for what I usually look while photographing: forms, composition and geometry.


– As a photographer, what do you find interesting about urban environments and architecture? What attracts your visual attention?
– I´m an architect, what always attracts me are the relations of space, the subtle connections between elements and the references to the modernism. I like walking on thin line between figurative and abstract approaches.


– Which other photographic styles do you like besides architectural and urban photography?
– Since I live in Rio de Janeiro, I have a special affection for photographing beaches. I love the details of sand and sea, and I´m also fascinated by their color palette.


– What motivates you to be busy with photography, what is your goal as a photographer?
– Beyond the architecture, for many years I’ve also been involved with the visual arts, especially painting and sculpture. Photography is a passion and a continuation of this trajectory. Sincerely, I have no definite purpose other than to keep using photography to do a sort of visual poetry.


– Do you have a ‘dream location’ where you would like to take photos? Which city would you like to visit for a photo session?
– Not a “dream location” because I like photographing anywhere, however I have plans to visit Barcelona soon.


– What is your favorite camera?
– I always have a camera with me, so I prefer the small and unobtrusive ones. I use several compact cameras, Canon and Panasonic, and an Olympus E-620.


– Did you publish any photo books and where do you expose your works on internet?
– I have publish two books on Blurb: OCEANO and ESTRANHA GRAMÁTICA. I also participated in collective publications as Hypo-X-Series, a digital curation by Alan Wilson, HAPHAZART! magazine,Issue 01 and in the exhibition catalog Lo sguardo oltre | A look beyond by Maria Luisa and Anna.

I expose mainly on Flickr and at my website.


– Thank you, Claudia and best wished with your photographic work.


13 Responses to “claudia carlos magno :: urban visual poetry”


  1. 1 Julian Escardo
    July 14, 2011 at 4:51 am

    I love Claudia’s work……..I’m glad to se it here……

    Julian

  2. 3 mluisa_
    July 14, 2011 at 6:51 am

    What an amazing collection!
    Beautiful works, Claudia, I love it.!
    Very interesting interview – thanks for both!

  3. 4 Polah2006
    July 14, 2011 at 9:30 am

    As always: Very good work, claudia! (and Brancolina)

  4. 5 carlos pataca
    July 14, 2011 at 11:30 am

    Great work. I love the precision. The way all elements work together to create a prefect composition. There is a way of looking at things that is almost spying, revealing secrets, showing what is there but we don’t see. For me this makes her photography very special. I confess that i did not know the work of Claudia and i thank claudia and Brancolina for the wonderful selection!
    carlos pataca

  5. July 14, 2011 at 1:53 pm

    I have been a fan of Claudia since I bumped into her amazing work. Since then, it’s been a pleasure and a learning experience through forms, lines and curves. She can easily achieve mixing elemnents of geometry with elegance like few people do, and that is one of the things that attracts me most in her photographs.

  6. July 14, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    Many, many thanks to all, I appreciate your kindness.
    Special thanks to brancolina.

  7. 8 elaine eiger
    July 14, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    Claudia’s work is very interesting because it escapes the obvious. Along with the geometric and aesthetic precision we could identify the look of someone who is seaching, and this makes it more interesting. His photographs bring us together in this quest.
    I really like the colors, with delicate subtle contrasts, also contribute to the quality of this excellent work.

    Elaine Eiger

  8. 9 gherm
    July 14, 2011 at 8:40 pm

    What a great selection!
    I like your sense of space and your efficient compositions.

  9. 10 zecaruso
    July 17, 2011 at 4:49 pm

    gran bella selezione, complimenti!

  10. 11 Augusto Rosa
    July 18, 2011 at 8:51 pm

    I’m so glad to see Claudia’s work here. I allways admire her “at first dispretensious way” of looking at things, generally architectural, and given it life and personality. Who else would give life to an AC trough the eyes of a voyer?
    Congratulation to Clauda and Lina for given us a good visual time!

  11. July 20, 2011 at 5:38 pm

    You are giving me new glances of my work, thank you all!

  12. July 24, 2011 at 6:14 am

    Thank you for visits and commenting


Comments are currently closed.