05
Mar
11

Leonie Polah aka polah2006 :: selection of photos from ‘the restaurant’ series


The restaurant

More photos: polah2006



IMG_1583b4knt

^

IMG_1583b4knt


IMG_1575a4knt

^

IMG_1575a4knt


IMG_1568c4knt

^

IMG_1568c4knt


IMG_2001a4knt

^

IMG_2001a4knt


IMG_1584b4knt

^

IMG_1584b4knt


– Hello, Leonie. How would you describe this set of images?
– I made this series during the renovation of a restaurant around the corner. It turned from being an Indonesian restaurant in browns into a general Asian place with lots of black and red. When the sun was shining I fell for the colours. Nearly every day I took some pictures untill they were ready. Then I made a selection.

– As a photographer, what do you find interesting about urban environments and architecture? what attracts your visual attention?
– I am a city person. I suppose my interest lies in the geometrical forms, although that is not strictly true because I am never tempted to photograph old buildings, which have abundant geometrical forms. Maybe it is because modern architecture seems to be empty, while you know it is teeming with life behind its facade. The same applies to many of my other urban scenes, but then vice versa. I like it when there are only remains of human life. The people are gone, they left traces of their existence.
In that sense this series is a bit different from my usual work, because some of the images have people in it.

– Which other photographic styles do you like besides architectural and urban photography?
– I like many styles of photographing, but in general I want some form in it. Whether it is geometrical, abstract, the natural form of flowers, or just light, doesn’t matter to me. The present trend of blurry images is not for me. Apparantly I need a focal point. Of course as always, there are exceptions.

– What motivates you to be busy with photography, what is your goal as a photographer?
– With my background of painting and sculpture, one could say that the visual arts are my main interest. At the present there is nothing I like more than making and editing photographic images. My aim is being the best photographer/visual artist I could be within the limits of my talent and financial resources.

– Do you have a ‘dream location’ where you would like to take photos? which city would you like to visit for a photo session?
– I would love to photograph the demolition or construction of a building up close. If I could choose a ‘dream location’ it would be a city. Hong Kong (Michael Wolf made his wonderful series ‘Architecture of Density’ there), New York, Beijing. But as dreams go, the reality is different and my experience is that there is a great gap between what images are good in reality and which are going to be good in your imagination.

– What is your favorite camera?
– I have a Canon Eos D1000 with a 18-200mm objective and a Nikon D70 with AF-S nikkor 18-70 mm objective. I would like to have a zoom lens for the Nikon.

– Did you publish any photo books and where do you expose your works on internet?
– I publish my images mainly on flickr. I have not published a photobook myself, except on issuu.com, but that attempt is more directed at design. However, on the ISSUU page you will find some magazines and books where my images were published: issuu.com/polah2006

Several issues of the Y sin Embargo magazine (Fernando Prats), you can find the issues in which some of my images are published: ysinembargo.com/uebi/descargas

Azurebumble’s blog Aesthetic investigations:
Leonie Polah: Facades series, Leonie Polah: Photographer, Leonie Polah: Meertens series and Leonie Polah: grid series

The photo-book Hypo-X-series by Azurbumble (Alan Wilson)

The photo books Shadé and Shadé #2 by Brancolina

The photo book Haphazart2 of the Haphazart Contemporary Abstract Group.

Louise Image’s Plateful Magazine issue 9:
issuu.com/plateform/docs/issues_no9engl-1/1″

An article by Gary Sauer-Thompson on e-zine Altfotonet:
altfotonet.org/blog/2009/03/contemporary-photography-a-not.html

– Thank you, Leonie and all the best with your photographic work.


27 Responses to “Leonie Polah aka polah2006 :: selection of photos from ‘the restaurant’ series”


  1. 1 fp
    March 5, 2011 at 6:57 pm

    Hmm… a non-gastronomic architectural point of view, but, fortunately, with some pepper on top, Leonie.

    !

  2. 2 jurek d.
    March 9, 2011 at 8:44 pm

    Those photos are both disturbing and fascinating. I keep coming back…

  3. 3 ARETË
    March 10, 2011 at 11:13 am

    Heavy elements transformed in light abstracts.
    Excellent transparence and a red full of life.
    Congratulations !

  4. March 10, 2011 at 2:19 pm

    leonie, your reds and blacks were the first things to hit my eyes when i first started flickr and to see them to-day again, with the strong geometrical forms, reminds me of the mystery you give to the modern urban setting, where mystery and a sense of awe is lost among confusion. beautiful.

  5. 5 htakat
    March 10, 2011 at 3:41 pm

    very nice

  6. March 10, 2011 at 4:18 pm

    An appropriate start to this exciting enterprise. Congratulations!
    As so often I feel a kindred spirit at work…this would be more evident, I think if one considered the images themselves ie. without the two black borders (a design decision the effectiveness I have long admired).
    I note a slight shift of emphasis in these….the geometry has been pushed further into the background. Look forward to seeing where you will go next.

  7. 7 #avril#
    March 10, 2011 at 9:47 pm

    I admire the beautiful reds and the fine reflections!

  8. 8 Rainer
    March 10, 2011 at 11:24 pm

    The colours red and black are in interaction very erotic. Some your pictures have therefore also this effect. Three photos of you please me particularly well. Altogether it is a marvelous compilation. Congratulations!

  9. 9 dreasan
    March 10, 2011 at 11:32 pm

    fascinating works!

  10. 10 camilo todemann
    March 11, 2011 at 12:32 am

    beautiful play of form,color and reflexions , creating with light superb abstracts
    congrats ;p

  11. March 11, 2011 at 3:23 am

    wonderful series perfectly displayed. I love everything here specially the colours and geometry all over the senses.No other word but perfect!

  12. 12 Polah2006
    March 11, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    Everyone thanks very much for viewing and for your reaction!

  13. March 11, 2011 at 4:09 pm

    Outstanding collection – strong and bold……my compliments to both, curator and artist.
    Julian

  14. 14 Lucie Bourassa
    March 11, 2011 at 4:28 pm

    Very beautiful series, Leonie! very good choice, Brancolina!

  15. March 11, 2011 at 5:58 pm

    thank you for visits and commenting:)

  16. 16 mluisa_
    March 11, 2011 at 7:02 pm

    Fascinanting images.
    Bravo Leonie
    Bravo Lina !

  17. March 12, 2011 at 7:39 pm

    Mooie serie platen Leonie! Sommige zijn heel “intens” !!!

  18. 18 SteffenTuck
    March 13, 2011 at 9:06 pm

    Leonie

    love the intensity of colour softened with light and blur and shade. Masterful rendition of architecture to highlight the almost invisible boundaries between inside and out.

    thanks Lina for organising these new exhibitions

  19. March 14, 2011 at 9:14 pm

    Lovely series, Leonie and a very good choice, Brancolina!

  20. 20 Gherm
    March 14, 2011 at 9:43 pm

    Gastronomy and photography…
    I like specially your use of the red color in these pictures. A great exhibition, Leonie!
    Congrats, Lina, for that selection.

  21. March 15, 2011 at 3:09 am

    You are truly an artist with a very specific vision of the language of form, colour and line creating compositions that indicate a departure from reality in depiction of imagery – sometimes in the darkest of places – sometimes in an almost abstract manner.
    Every piece of your work is surrounded by an aura of uniqueness! This is a fascinating insight into your creative world.
    It is indeed an inspirational part of your portfolio…..

  22. 22 Polah2006
    March 15, 2011 at 6:02 pm

    Thanks everyone for visiting my exhibition and for commenting on it!

  23. March 15, 2011 at 8:33 pm

    wow!!!
    this is just brilliant. I love the questions and answers too… a real insight!
    I love how you have taken one simple idea and created such an amazing sequence of art.
    Excellent and unique exhibition!

  24. 24 Françoise Lucas
    March 16, 2011 at 10:55 pm

    The colours are amazing. Beautiful exhibition!

  25. 25 Augusto Rosa
    March 17, 2011 at 12:39 am

    a great universe showed in your collection, congratulations!

  26. 26 mark valentine
    March 30, 2011 at 2:20 am

    stunning work in a superb crosssection – and delightful format in
    which to encournter the work as well!

  27. March 30, 2011 at 9:19 pm

    I know her work, and I think she is one of the most original and creative flickr photographer … congratulations on this fascinating exihibition!, and .. on your work!🙂


Comments are currently closed.