14
Sep
11

Wouter Hogendorp a.k.a. wouter and canon :: white spaces


A selection of photos by Wouter Hogendorp a.k.a. wouter and canon



A man who wasn't there

^

A man who wasn’t there (2010)


Solitude

^

Solitude (2010)


Viking ship II

^

Viking ship (2009)


Vertical light

^

Vertical light (2009)


A beautiful day

^

A beautiful day (2010)


A hole in the wall

^

A hole in the wall (2011)


Museum Insel Hombroich

^

Museum Insel Hombroich (2010)



– Hello, Wouter. How would you describe this set of images?
– This set of images shows my love for the light, the ‘colour’ white and minimal forms. Most of the photos are taken in museums, which are wonderful places for this kind of photography.


– As a photographer, what do you find interesting about urban environments and architecture?
– I love an urban environment when it contains striking and inspiring buildings and objects. Architecture is inspiring because of its combination of functionality and beauty. Sometimes the architecture is (very close to) great art.


– What usually attracts your visual attention?
– Simple architectural details with subtle shapes. Most of the time it is the interior of a building with a minimalistic and white design where the light, shapes and ‘colours’ are often so subtle.


– Which other photographic styles do you like besides architectural and urban photography?
– I also like to photograph musicians, because they are used to be photographed on stage.


– What motivates you to be busy with photography?
– I want to document the beauty of architectural details. By framing those details, they get a more artistic ‘meaning’, a meaning in itself. I want to share that beauty with other people. So mostly I just want to say with my photography:’Look, this is the beauty!’ and sometimes I whisper: ‘Look, this is me’.


– What is your goal as a photographer?
– To have an exhibition of my best works, one day in a far future.


– Do you have a ‘dream location’ where you would like to take photos?
– I already found my dream location: Die Neue Pinakothek in Munich, it has the most beautiful interior I have ever seen.


– Which city would you like to visit for a photo session?
– Shanghai. I want to go there in the spring of 2012.


– What is your favorite camera?
– My favorite camera does not excist (yet). I want a light, small and affordable camera with all the manual functions and a zoomlens 28-300mm. No chromatic abboration, vignetting or distortion. I keep dreaming about it and in a meanwhile I enjoy working with my Canon EOS 7D and Panasonic Lumix DMC-LX3.


– Did you publish any photo books and where do you expose your works on internet?
– Alan Wilson published some photos in his book Hypo – X – series. Pannaphotos made a gallery with my works. This year I will publish a book on Blurb with my favourite ‘white’ photos.


– Thank you, Wouter. I am looking forward to see your photo book, all the best with your photography.


8 Responses to “Wouter Hogendorp a.k.a. wouter and canon :: white spaces”


  1. 1 mluisa_
    September 14, 2011 at 2:00 pm

    I know your work and this is very interesting for me.
    I loved so much your concept of form and colours.
    Also I love the shots in the museum…
    Bravo, your work is a superb work.
    Congrats Lina for this great selection!

  2. September 14, 2011 at 8:24 pm

    A wonderful selection about light. Wouter is among my most favourite photograpers. His images seem quiet and contained yet – for me – they are full of excitement and wonder. Wish I could write more eloquently about them. Well done Wouter and Brancolina!

  3. 3 pannaphotos
    September 14, 2011 at 8:34 pm

    Wouter, you already know how much I love your amazing images!
    This wonderful selection of superb architectural details shows me again your great talent!! I wish you all the best with your amazing photography and I’m looking forward to see the blurb book of white inmages too!

  4. 4 Françoise Lucas
    September 14, 2011 at 10:19 pm

    Wouter’s constructions are amazing. This is a beautiful series. Thank you both.

  5. 5 zecaruso
    September 18, 2011 at 10:52 pm

    una galleria di una eleganza assoluta!

  6. September 19, 2011 at 5:27 am

    A truly aesthetic choice.

    Photography is much freer than art. It is superior as pure expression.

    There is here, a compilation of seamless work with immense creativity in design , that engages public interest because they spring from a fertile imagination.

    I am fascinated by Wouter’s work, where one finds a unique dimension a such potential movement.
    What I admire most in his work is the remarkable silence, as well the reflection of everything conventional…

    A true elegant simplicity, vaguely austere at times and more or less monochromatic.

    Thank you for sharing your work through red square gallery that acts as a forum for the exchange of ideas and mutual support.

    Robert Melotte

  7. September 23, 2011 at 8:15 pm

    thank you for visits and commenting

  8. 8 gherm
    January 30, 2012 at 10:28 pm

    Each of your detail picture is a work of art!


Comments are currently closed.