24
Sep
11

steffen merkle a.k.a. stemerk44 :: geometric abstracts based on facade details


A selection of photos by Steffen Merkle a.k.a. stemerk44



15 öffnungen

^

15 öffnungen (2009)



14 quadrate :: 14 squares

^

14 quadrate :: 14 squares (2010)


zwei schatten :: two shadows

^

zwei schatten :: two shadows (2010)


...

^

… (2011)


schräge jalousie :: slanting blind

^

schräge jalousie :: slanting blind (2009)


frau am fenster :: woman at the window

^

frau am fenster :: woman at the window (2009)


silo 23

^

Silo 23 (2010)



– Hello, Steffen. How would you describe this set of images?
– This set is primarily about architecture – like most of my images. These images show the idea of isolating architectural details of facades from its context and the details becoming abstract or minimal graphics. And here especially about changing the relations between massive walls and transparent windows to relations simply between graphic lines and areas.


– As a photographer, what do you find interesting about urban environments and architecture?
– My professional background is architecture and urban design. So when I began taking pictures I was consequently drawn to architecture without thinking too much about it.

When you begin designing a project, you start most of the times with an idea – a simple scribble, a few lines put on the paper. With the time the idea gets more and more complex – and so do the drawings, the simplicity of the beginning is often lost on this way. With my images I’m trying to show simple geometries and graphics like the ones you have at the beginning of a project.


– What usually attracts your visual attention?
– It could be anything – but it’s mostly something to do with architecture, geometry or graphics. Without recognizing an object worth photographing in the first place, I’m often mentally creating a crop, a perspective, an image while walking on. When I finally realise what I have passed, it’s time to go back and take pictures deliberately.


– Which other photographic styles do you like besides architectural and urban photography?
– There are of lot of superb images in many styles beside architecture and urban photography – which is easy to detect when browsing through Flickr. My camera nearly entirely seems to be drawn to architecture. I like minimalism and graphic style very much, but I’m not sure if in my case I can separate these from architecture.


– What motivates you to be busy with photography?
– I want to show a new way of looking at things, not only architecture. To create something new out of something familiar. And of course getting better and learning something in this process.


– Do you have a ‘dream location’ where you would like to take photos? Which city would you like to visit for a photo session?
– A ‘dream location’ would be Tokyo or another city with non-European cultural background. A more realistic to come true ‘dream location’ would be Seville or Valencia, with its cultural mixture of Europe, Africa and Arabia.


– What is your favorite camera?
– The one I’m using at the moment is a Canon PowerShot G12. Small enough to carry it everywhere and with all the functions I need.


– Did you publish any photo books and where do you expose your works on internet?
– Some of my pictures were published in an issue of DOZE Magazine, for the rest I’m only exposing on Flickr.


)Thank you, Steffen.


10 Responses to “steffen merkle a.k.a. stemerk44 :: geometric abstracts based on facade details”


  1. September 24, 2011 at 1:05 am

    Congrats for this superb work about facades.
    Thanks!

  2. 2 Françoise Lucas
    September 24, 2011 at 1:21 pm

    A beautiful and inspiring selection. Thank you Steffen and Lina.

  3. 3 pannaphotos
    September 24, 2011 at 9:56 pm

    really an interesting selection of superb works, I love each of them! Thank you both, Lina and Steffen!

  4. 4 Rainer
    September 26, 2011 at 10:36 pm

    Delightful framing and composition – bravo!

  5. 5 camilo todemann
    September 27, 2011 at 11:41 pm

    wonderful rythmn selection ;p

  6. 6 carlos pataca
    October 1, 2011 at 10:53 pm

    this is really great work, I even could not choose the one I prefer… yes, congratulations again with this fantastic series!

  7. October 4, 2011 at 6:10 am

    Thank you for visits and commenting.

  8. 8 steffen merkle
    October 7, 2011 at 8:31 pm

    thank you all for your visits and comments
    and
    thank you brancolina for the invitation to show some of my photos …

  9. 9 mluisa_
    October 14, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    I love so much this work, it is brillant !
    Great selection !

  10. 10 gherm
    January 30, 2012 at 10:25 pm

    A great windows parade!


Comments are currently closed.