23
Jun
13

avard woolaver :: from the series ‘Lee Friedlander Inspired’


A selection of photos by Avard Woolaver



everywhere signs

^

everywhere signs



Quebec City, QC

^

Quebec city, QC



Newport, NS

^

Newport, NS



Hantsport, NS

^

Hantsport, NS



Halifax, NS

^

Halifax, NS



window view

^

window view



– Hello Avard, how would you describe this set of images?

This set of images is titled “Lee Friedlander Inspired.” This is my take on some of his ideas and motifs–reflections, shadows, signs, cars, self-portraits. To me, his work conveys randomness, detachment, irony, and, most of all, a great sense of visual humour. He took elements usually regarded as obstacles and made them inherent and important parts of his images. So, in short, these images are my spin on Friedlander.
 
 
– As a photographer, what do you find interesting about urban environments and architecture? What usually attracts your visual attention?

When I want to take a photo, it’s most often because of the light. I love to see the ways light reflects off walls or highlights various details of buildings and landscapes. I’m also interested in visual juxtapositions and the ways people interact with an urban environment.
 
 
– Do you have a dream location where you would like to take photos?

Japan. I lived there for six years a couple of decades ago, and I would love to go back to do some street photography. Japan is the most photo-friendly place I know; people there take pictures all the time, and they generally don’t mind at all if someone is walking around with a camera. It’s a completely different mindset about photography from that in many parts of the world.
 
 
– What is your favourite camera?

It’s a Rollei 35S. It’s great for street photography; I carried one for years and I’m very nostalgic about them. I don’t shoot film anymore, though. These days I like my Canon Rebel T3 and Canon 60D.
 
 
– Have you published a book, and where do you expose your work on the internet?

I post my photos on Ipernity, Flickr, Facebook and Twitter. I have not published a book; my work has appeared online in Excerpt Magazine, Aubade Magazine, Urban Photo Mag, Refractions Magazine, Andrew Sullivan’s blog The Dish, and Modismo. In print I’ve been featured in Camera Canada and various other North American publications.
 
 
– Thanks for the interview, I wish you all the best with your work.