14
Aug
11

Jurek Durczak a.k.a. jurek d. :: urban details


Selection of photos from jurek d.


White bridge

^

White bridge (2009)


Lamp and light

^

Lamp and light (2008)


No right turn

^

No right turn (2008)


Descending

^

Descending (2010)


Skinny tree

^

Skinny tree (2010)


Shady corner

^

Shady corner (2009)


Wire

^

Wire (2009)



– Hello, Jurek. How would you describe this set of images?
– I like your choice. Porto, Albuquerque, Menton … photographers’ paradise. You walk around and you see so many photo opportunities. That’s basically how I see urban landscapes: geometry, shapes, details … they are all very important elements for me.

– As a photographer, what do you find interesting about urban environments and architecture? What attracts your visual attention?
– I love urban environments because there’s so much to see there, so much is happening. Colours, lines, shadows, angles are constantly changing depending on the time of day and the weather. I like details rather than larger views. Those who have a chance to see my work usually cannot tell where the photos were taken. Very often I do not remember myself. Nor do I care – I am not into documentation.

– Which other photographic styles do you like besides architectural and urban photography?
– I find some landscapes compelling, and abstract photography is certainly one of my interests – colours, patterns, details. Actually, I’m very eclectic, although I rarely take photographs of people since I am always afraid they will not like my doing so. Consequently, I have very few photos of actual people in my portfolio: body parts – yes; but whole figures – not really. The fewer the people in my photos the better (a tendency which a psychoanalyst might perhaps find interesting). At the same time I admire those who are good at photographing people.

– What motivates you to be busy with photography, what is your goal as a photographer?
– This is a question I often ask myself. Why am I doing it? It gives me pleasure and some kind of artistic satisfaction – that’s obvious. But what else is behind it? When I was a kid I often imagined myself as a painter. I admired painters – not just paintings, but the painters themselves, the people who had those incredible, magic skills. But I couldn’t even draw a straight line or a nicely formed circle. Much to my regret I realized I would never be a painter. Then, once upon a time, I discovered photography. It was not the same as painting, but it was close to it. Then, years later I became even more interested in digital photography – that was even closer to being a painter. I still do not feel like a painter and still would like to be one, but photography gives me a sense of artistic accomplishment.

My goal as a photographer? I have no special goals. Like any other photographer, I want to be better and better, and I want my work to be seen. Above all, I want to be able to say to myself: “This year my photos are much better than they were last year.”

– Do you have a ‘dream location’ where you would like to take photos? Which city would you like to visit for a photo session?
– I like places where there are very few people in the streets . . . empty, deserted. I remember those from my visits to the States, to Canada, and to central and eastern Portugal. But I also enjoy photographing big cities – New York, San Francisco, Berlin – but only early in the morning before crowds hit the streets. The cities I would like to photograph? The little towns in southern Italy, maybe Bilbao (I am going there very soon), Florence, many others. How can I know? As for landscapes: Norway, Newfoundland and the American West are unbeatable, but then I haven’t been to Iceland or Patagonia …

– What is your favorite camera?
– I am using three at the moment: a Nikon D80 with four different lenses, sometimes a Canon PowerShot G12 and, recently, my iPhone camera. I will probably upgrade my D80 next year for a more advanced Nikon model. I’d like to have a Leica M9, primarily for nostalgic reasons – my first “serious” camera was an old Leica.

– Did your photos get published in any photo/art-books or magazines and where do you expose your works on internet (website, blog …)?
– I have had three exhibitions (Colorado Springs, Lublin and Warsaw), five book covers and a CD cover for a London rock group Treason. Several of my photos have made the cover of a magazine published at the university where I teach American literature and culture and several have been used as illustrations in different books. My work has also been featured in Y Sin Embargo magazine and in collective photo books Hypo-x-series, Shadé and Shadé II. I have no time for my own site or blog, but for the past five years I have been posting my work on Flickr at a regular pace of two photos a day.

– Thank you, Jurek and best wishes for your photographic work.


15 Responses to “Jurek Durczak a.k.a. jurek d. :: urban details”


  1. August 14, 2011 at 8:39 am

    a wonderful collection of pictures.

  2. August 14, 2011 at 8:24 pm

    What a fantastic selection of pictures by this great photographer. And a super interview too. Jurek – if you like places with no people then add Valencia (and in particular the City of Arts and Sciences) to your list. You can walk around the park at 6am and enjoy the magnificent buildings with almost no people around. You’d love it!

  3. 3 Françoise Lucas
    August 14, 2011 at 11:00 pm

    A beautiful choice in shapes, light and colours. I loved reading the interview too. Congratulations Jurek and Lina.

  4. 4 jurek d.
    August 14, 2011 at 11:40 pm

    Thank you very much for your comments! Lina did a great job, didn’t she?

  5. 5 Jane Underwood/my.third.eye
    August 15, 2011 at 10:40 pm

    You were one of my very first contacts on Flickr, Jurek, and I have very much enjoyed being one of your followers. It’s lovely to hear your interview answers and to know a bit more about you/your life/your thoughts.

  6. August 17, 2011 at 9:09 pm

    I like very much Jurek’s work, ’cause there’s not only architectures, but a lot more. the presence of foreign bodies add irony to the whole work, and that’s wonderful. something really minimal and formally sober becomes dynamic and funny. I will start following on Flickr for sure!

  7. 7 Polah2006
    August 18, 2011 at 5:50 pm

    I like this set of urban images very much! But I also like Jurek’s other images. There is often a strange or onexpected element in it, and somehow a bit of a romantic approach. Intriguing!.

  8. 8 jurek d.
    August 18, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    Thank you for your visits and your kind comments!

  9. August 23, 2011 at 12:30 pm

    Thanks everyone for visits and commenting.

  10. 10 mluisa_
    August 23, 2011 at 11:11 pm

    I love so much this exibithion.
    Bravo Jurek, bravo Lina !

  11. August 26, 2011 at 2:12 am

    I have always had a keen interest in Jurek’s work, but most of those displayed in this gallery are unknown to me.

    Even though most of our dreams may not be as vivid as those experienced in the real world, Jurek has the capacity to bring us the “deep domain” of colours, their contrasts and their combinations in a dramatic sense of possibility, in an urban confrontational setting, while capturing the “ordinaries of the world” – so to say.
    Paradoxically one can also see what the compositions mean while offering a variety that is hard to beat.
    I am delighted to get acquainted with them — thanks to Brancolina, for bringing these selected works to my attention and also to Jurek for making it possible for us to admire.

    Without Red Square, we old not be able to savour some of the best “photographic artists”.

  12. 12 jurek d.
    August 26, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    And thank you again…

  13. 13 gherm
    September 5, 2011 at 8:31 am

    Architecture and shadows, a good company. Great exhibition!

  14. 14 Beeke bailey
    July 12, 2012 at 7:52 am

    What a wonderful selection of images!!!

  15. 15 Agnieszka L.
    July 17, 2012 at 12:25 pm

    Tak piekne w swojej prostocie . ..


Comments are currently closed.