13
May
11

mengwen29 :: looking for the object


A selection of photos from the series Looking for the object by mengwen29


Modern life

^

Modern life


Blinds

^

Blinds


Representation

^

Representation


Play

^

Play


Flight

^

Flight


Squared

^

Squared


– Hello, Françoise. How would you describe this set of images?
– I took the photographs in a newly constructed neighbourhood near my place. What struck me there is that it looked almost always empty. You don’t see people walking, sitting on benches, on stairs, or attending business as you could expect in an area where people live. You see walls, windows, pathways. When you peek through windows however, you can see furniture as a sign that the apartments are occupied. There are visible traces of people in the area although you do not see them. For me this neighbourhood became like a set for a play. It became a theater without the actors that were supposed to perform in it.

– As a photographer, what do you find interesting about urban environments and architecture? What attracts your visual attention?
– I like details, I like light and dark. It’s easier for me to create an atmosphere while focusing on light and details than to take picture of an entire building. But that is something I want to learn.

– Which other photographic styles do you like besides architectural and urban photography?
– I love creating minimal and abstract compositions and I also love taking photos of landscapes.

– What motivates you to be busy with photography, what is your goal as a photographer?
– I am a visual person, and I was trained as a literary theorist. When I work on the photographs I have taken, I always tend to put some kind of story behind them or to work a set of photographs around a concept. That is my way of making sense of photography and representing the world around me.

– Do you have a ‘dream location’ where you would like to take photos? Which city would you like to visit for a photo session?
– I like to take photographs in defined locations, and to create spaces of these locations. With creating spaces I mean representing within the frame of the photograph the way I see it, and read the location. I love to walk around in a new place. I could do this anywhere, I guess.

– What is your favorite camera?
– At the moment I use a Nikon D 90. I like it.

– Did you publish any photo books and where do you expose your works on internet?
– On internet I publish mostly on Flickr. I also have published two books on Blurb Couleurs de Marrakech and Rencontres à Marrakech. My works were also published in Y Sin Embargo magazine issue 24, 25, 26 and 27 by Fernando Prats, on Azurebumble’s blog Aesthetic investigations and in photo books Shadé and Shadé#2 by Brancolina.

– Thank you very much, Françoise and all the best with your potographic work.


13 Responses to “mengwen29 :: looking for the object”


  1. May 13, 2011 at 12:45 pm

    I love these geometric photographic abstractions! Reminds me of the later paintings by Mondrian. Great work!

  2. 2 SteffenTuck
    May 14, 2011 at 2:34 am

    very pleased to see and read about one of my flikr faves- to understand her mind and reasoning and re-visit her images is a real treat

  3. 3 Polah2006
    May 14, 2011 at 6:48 am

    Great selection and great photographs! Really like the work of Mengwen. Seeing these images I realize too, that have neglected her work recently. Shame on me!

  4. 4 mluisa_
    May 14, 2011 at 11:07 am

    Great work and great selection I love all….
    Bravo Françoise, bravo Lina !

  5. 5 Gherm
    May 15, 2011 at 10:15 am

    J’aime cette approche de la photographie. Belle exposition, Françoise (et Lina !)

  6. May 16, 2011 at 8:08 am

    Brilliant!!! the selection is first class and holds so well… I love the interview also. It is so cool to have an insight into your way of photographing and your goals. I think you are hugely sucessful!!! well done Franciose and Lina!!! a real treat!

  7. 7 Hatman
    May 16, 2011 at 6:03 pm

    Un art subtil du clair-obscur. “Flight” est … céleste.

  8. 8 jurek d.
    May 16, 2011 at 10:44 pm

    Francoise is soooooooooooo goooooood.
    I know her work very well, so it does not surprise me…
    But this selection is special….

    Good luck!

  9. 9 Françoise Lucas
    May 16, 2011 at 11:50 pm

    Thank you all for the visit and comments!

  10. 10 Dyane 6
    May 17, 2011 at 8:09 am

    Stunning pics. Strong Mediterranean slant in a temperate urban space. Especially the color combination betrays the presence of the South. I recognise the hand and vision of Françoise. A lot of interplay of geometric abstraction, colour and inflation of details. Your story is compelling and it reminds me of your thesis and also of the 1961 film of Alain resnais and the paintings of the Chirico. Suggestion for a title: L’année dernière à Hessenberg.

  11. May 20, 2011 at 10:23 am

    What a wonderful collection of images from a super artist – and a great little interview too. It’s so nice to get an insight in to the person behind the lens!

  12. 12 Bluesrose
    May 22, 2011 at 10:07 am

    Great works, great exhibition!
    Congratulations!

  13. June 24, 2011 at 6:13 am

    L’ordre est réfractaire au changement, sauf évidemment celui qui le consolide ou qu’il réussit à apprivoiser.
    C’est le départ, de ce travail, de cette écriture photographique … que Françoise nous propose.

    Derrière les photographies d’un instant, on découvre un âme sensible qui a aussi besoin de la durée pour exprimer la profondeur de rencontres exceptionnelles. Elle répond à cette nécessité par le biais d’aventures photographiques qui donnent une autre dimension à son approche.
    Sa photographie témoigne du dialogue avec l’autre. Entre le jeux d’ombres et de lumière; arabesques, lignes droites se rencontrent et s’entrelacent.

    Ici est assemblé une très belles collection de ses travaux. Mes félicitations à Françoise pour ses oeuvres et aussi à Lina pour un partage et une sélection exclusifs.

    Thank you Lina for the excellent choice!

    Well done.


Comments are currently closed.