04
Aug
11

zel nuñes :: scenarios formed by curves and lines


A selection of photos from zelnunes



lnly lght

^

lnly lght (2011)



mn

^

mn (2010)



nsy lns nd crvs

^

nsy lns nd crvs (2008)



crvs

^

crvs (2007)



crvs 3

^

crvs 3 (2007)




crvs

^

crvs (2008)



– Hello, Zel. How would you describe this set of images?
– I think this selection resumes my obsession for geometry and the impact it has when you frame it separately from the context it belongs, curves and lines forming different and alternative scenarios even if you’re working with the very same set.

– As a photographer, what do you find interesting about urban environments and architecture? What attracts your visual attention?
– I like to illustrate graphically how the world is made of dots, sometimes isolated, sometimes together, forming geometric elements. Today it has become a trend, especially in architectural photography, to overrate the “whole” as opposed to separate components. My job is, quite often, to dissect these architectural elements and bring them in sight of the viewer, exposing that which is most simple yet fundamental: lines and curves. And in this game of architecture and photography, the urban environment becomes a actual amusement park. Instinctively my visual attention turns to that which is not that evident to the public in general. For me it’s pleasurable to use the graphics, and sometimes minimalism to reveal what is not seen at first sight.

– Which other photographic styles do you like besides architectural and urban photography?
– I try to explore various styles, even by the mere fact of exercising my eye and trying new approaches to my favorite subjects. But I always end up unwittingly back to my minimalist or graphic compositions.

– What motivates you to be busy with photography, what is your goal as a photographer?
– I always expressed myself through visual arts, albeit in a very individual and shy manner. I’ve gone through phases of drawing, painting and have always valued the composition as a center of artistic aesthetic, ie, the composition in the foreground. Currently, photography is my tool for composing visually. I usually justify my style with the phrase: I do photographism and not photography.

– Do you have a ‘dream location’ where you would like to take photos? Which city would you like to visit for a photo session?
– Depends on the day, but in general you can compose anywhere. Of course there are certain cities that I wish to know for their architecture and urban design such as Milan and Valencia.

– What is your favorite camera?
– Nikon D700. that is the only one I’ve got.

– Did your photos get published in any photo/art-books or magazines and where do you expose your works on internet (website, blog …)?
– I am proudly and honouredly thankful for several virtual exhibitions in many blogs and photography sites, specially when the image is taken as reference for a different approach to photography. The most recent exhibiton is in HydePark Photography magazine. I have also contributed with collective projects such as Azurebumble (Alan Wilson)’s HYPO-X-series and your Shadé II photo book, Steve on the run project, the exhibition catalog “A look beyond” and with the portfollio section for the Revista Continente (August edition).

– Thank you for the interview and permission to present your works in this gallery, I wish you all the best with your photography.


13 Responses to “zel nuñes :: scenarios formed by curves and lines”


  1. 1 Rudolf Vlček
    August 4, 2011 at 8:24 am

    Marvellous works!

  2. 2 mluisa_
    August 6, 2011 at 9:13 am

    I LOVE !
    I love all Zel’s work !!!

  3. 3 carlos pataca
    August 6, 2011 at 10:26 am

    What can i say, that his work is stunning, awesome, gorgeous, and all superlatives that express beauty and grandeur? for me his work is also lessons. Every time i see one of his photography’s iI learn a little. And what i appreciate more about his work is that he shows us how to look at modern architecture without prejudices, he reveals the hiding beauty of it in a special way putting the viewer in the right place: just a little toy in the immense universe. Thanks Zel and Brancolina for this wonderful selection!

  4. August 6, 2011 at 10:17 pm

    Zel´s work delights me for the unusual, even ironic, architectural look, framing accuracy and for his tendency to the monumental spaces, such as large buildings of Brasilia, airports…
    Thanks Brancolina and Zel!

  5. 5 jurek d.
    August 8, 2011 at 5:15 pm

    love the way you see the city… superb collection of geometric wonders!

  6. August 12, 2011 at 2:59 am

    Photography is an immediate reaction.
    I am convinced that Zel manages to capture the phenomenal nature of shapes and/or shadows wherever he goes; and here, amongst those selected works, there is this imminent balance between beauty and functionalism, representing at the same time a message that we must intercept. Memory is born of the desire to present a universe. With this rigorous process, memory pays tribute to the personal and subjective “small picture of the big picture,”

    “Magnifique” curvatures and the most sensual shapes in geometry. I have a great admiration for your work.

    This is awesome work here: everything in Zel’s photography just works; right down to the framing.
    A contemplative delight and an homage to contemporary urbanist landscapes in to-days context.

    Regards RM

  7. August 12, 2011 at 3:01 am

    A big thank you to Lina to bring us these selected works. Indeed, an excellemnt choice – once again!
    Best reagrds.

  8. 8 Françoise Lucas
    August 13, 2011 at 11:44 pm

    I love the photo’s and the selection.

  9. August 14, 2011 at 12:58 am

    Thank you everyone!
    I’m speechless with the nice words on my work.

  10. August 14, 2011 at 1:03 am

    big thanks to all for visits and commenting

  11. August 17, 2011 at 9:03 pm

    this is an amazing gallery, I’m breathless, my compliments to Zel and to Brancolina!

  12. 12 Stephen Reed
    August 22, 2011 at 5:17 pm

    I really enjoyed this gallery (and a great deal more of your images) and from your interview, I appreciate that what I enjoy about your work is what your goal for you work is! It’s working!!

  13. 13 gherm
    September 5, 2011 at 8:24 am

    Great lines and curves. Congrats Zel!


Comments are currently closed.