15
Mar
12

augusto rosa : asphalt stories


A selection of photos by Augusto Rosa



to belong

^

to belong (2008)


wednesday

^

wednesday (2009)


rehab

^

rehab (2008)


everything passes....

^

everything passes (2009)


^

untitled (2009)


^

untitled (2008)


^

untitled (2008)



– Hello, Augusto. How would you describe this set of images?
– I do take pictures of everything but, I’m an “asphalt” addict and this set represents my urge to find perspective, form, geometry and philosophy through lines juxtaposed over black surfaces. This set surprised me somehow, because it is my second exhibition with the same subject, and all the images are “originals” with regard to the first one, which means I’m still trying to see the wonky lines, the fragile assertions and to seek the vanishing point of my asphalt travels. I still feel that there are thousands of miles to click still…


– As a photographer, what do you find interesting about urban environments and architecture? What attracts your visual attention?
– I’m always fascinated by the other meaning of the man made environment and objects. As a practicing architect for 28 years, when I grab my camera I always look for the “antagonistic”, the anti-pragmatism of the composition, the shape, the geometry. My eye is looking for the abstract and poetic side of the urban jungle, the meaning of the small detail, the forgotten corner the other “façade” of a façade.


– Which other photographic styles do you like besides architectural and urban photography?
– I like everything, but I’m specially drawn to minimal and realistic abstractions and also building a sort of philosophical visual (philosophoto) journey with my work.


– What motivates you to be busy with photography, what is your goal as a photographer?
– I’m a visual being. I like to paint and draw too, but in 2007 when I started playing with photography, I was hooked instantly, it is my favorite media this days. I do not plan a lot of my shots and the thrill of the instant idea, the click and later the editing gives me the adrenaline I don’t get with other visual experiments. My goal is to keep challenging myself; like I’m almost afraid that an image is going to lose its meaning if I do not go through the whole process as quickly as I can.


– Do you have a ‘dream location’ where you would like to take photos? Which city would you like to visit for a photo session?
– I don’t. I think any location, anywhere is always a challenge and you can get the most of it if you are ready for it, but I have to say that NYC and Barcelona are my favorite city “models”.


– What is your favorite camera?
– I have a Nikon D7000, a Cannon RebelX and a small collection of Panasonic Lumixes. The Lumixes are great small cameras and I always have one with me – they sleep on my night table.


– Did you publish any photo books and where do you expose your works on internet?
– My work is in a couple of issues of the Y sin Embargo magazine, and in the photo-books Hypo-X-series by Azurbumble (Alan Wilson) and Shadé by Brancolina. I published two books on Blurb: “Life Without Parole” and “A4 Architects“ and I have my photos as covers to several books: “Cronicas” (National Peace Awards of Colombia) by Marta Ruiz Editora and “Redalu”, a sociological study published by the Universitat de Barcelona. I also have some photos (architecture) published in “Portland Magazine” from Maine. All of my work is on Flickr


20 Responses to “augusto rosa : asphalt stories”


  1. March 15, 2012 at 3:03 pm

    I’m not an intellectual as my older brother Augusto, I’m amazed by his work. It looks so easy, but impossible to replicate without his passion and talent. Good on you brow!

  2. 3 Noni
    March 15, 2012 at 3:06 pm

    Olhei…. olhei de novo… parei naquela do azul mais tempo. Adorei a foto das balizas…
    Adorei tudo.
    Abs

  3. March 15, 2012 at 8:03 pm

    Marcel Duchamp said: I don’t believe in art. I believe in artists.
    I’m agree with him. And Augusto and his work are a good example of this.
    Great selection for a great artist!
    Congratulations!!

  4. 7 carlos pataca
    March 15, 2012 at 9:40 pm

    what can i say that you don’t know… hum… you know you are a source of inspiration… a great eye… and componist too. I am a found of your work and this series show us how to see poetry in the most common places… great work! thanks to brancolina too.

    • 8 Augusto
      March 24, 2012 at 4:43 pm

      You always has something new to say Carlos (the poet!), Thanks for the visit !

      • 9 Augusto
        March 24, 2012 at 4:55 pm

        Rob, your comment just filled my ego for a good time to come, I always enjoy your words and you knowlment of art and aesthetics. I’m honered by you visit , Thanks!

  5. March 15, 2012 at 11:49 pm

    In the long time that I follow Augusto’s work on flickr, it was always a pleasure to see his cleverness and poetry. Great selection! Thank you Lina and Augusto!

    • 11 Augusto
      March 24, 2012 at 4:45 pm

      Claudia my Fellow architec/photographer friend, I’m allways looking for your comments! obrigado!

  6. 12 mluisa_
    March 18, 2012 at 10:05 pm

    Augusto Rosa is a great photographer, I love a lot his work !
    Grazie Lina , grazie Augusto

    Maria Luisa

  7. 14 gherm
    March 19, 2012 at 6:44 pm

    Great exhibition. Augusto is expert in asphaltography!
    Congrats to Lina, too, for the nice selection.

  8. March 24, 2012 at 12:10 pm

    Congratulations are in order to Augusto.

    LeWitt wrote: “It is the objective of the artist who is concerned with conceptual art to make his work mentally interesting to the spectator,..”; Augusto certainly achieves this objective with this painterly effects of street life: the capacity of a compelling narrative goes beyond the confines of the visual world as well.

    Out of the objectivity of the photographs featured here, transcends surfaces that emerge, lines of brilliance and of iridescence, colours that intersect and make themselves visible – that becomes themselves out of the clarity of the “hidden”spaces.

    Augusto paints this hidden word to his best ability. Could the essence of this “asphalt” universe not equally be captured in a symphony, or unfolded within a poem?

    Thank you to Lina and Augusto.

  9. March 24, 2012 at 12:15 pm

    P.S. I should add. This is the “human wildlife” of the city. In his course, Augusto produces transitory “land art” in the landscape and pusrues different mythologies.

  10. 18 augusto
    March 25, 2012 at 4:07 am

    Rob, your comment just filled my ego for a good time to come, I always enjoy your words and your knowledge of art and aesthetics. I’m honered by you visit , Thanks!

  11. 19 Françoise Lucas
    March 25, 2012 at 12:37 pm

    Superb collection, beautiful work. Congratulations Augusto and Lina.

  12. 20 pannaphotos
    April 13, 2012 at 3:57 pm

    a great, great photographer!!!


Comments are currently closed.