03
May
11

rita vita finzi :: catching the rhythm with a camera


Selection of photos from Rita Vita Finzi


am spree

^

Am Spree


little wings

^

Little wings


The lamp

^

The lamp


a walk on the roof

^

A walk on the roof


A man

^

A man


•

^



– Hello, Rita. How would you describe this set of images?
– I am smiling looking at your selection, because the most of the pics you have chosen have been taken in Berlin, that is not only a city I love so much, but also one of my favorite location – so, thank you. Only Lamps is ‘Italian’, due to the courtesy of a friend of mine, who was driving and kindly stopped the car hearing me crying ‘stop-stop-stop, please!’ (!!!):). I think composition, contrasts, monochrome graphic effect is what keep them together.


– As a photographer, what do you find interesting about urban environments and Architecture? What attracts your visual attention?
– “Architecture is music in space” – well, I think this F.W.J.von Schelling’s quote can represent what I feel for architecture and the reason why I love it. Therefore, I am trying to “catch” this music – details, play of lines and surfaces, reflections, rhythm, repetitions, this is what attracts my visual attention. And, above all: the light!


– Which other photographic styles do you like besides architectural and urban photography?
– I love many subjects, but nature is one of my favorite, in particular flowers and leaves: play of colours and shapes, tiny details and even that kind of exquisite “design” (yes, you can find a sort of very different “architecture” there). More than this: sea.


– What motivates you to be busy with photography, what is your goal as a photographer?
– I consider my camera a kind of “brush” that allows me to “paint” what I see all around me, and sometimes what I feel. This gives me a lot, and motivate me. My goals? To improve, of course – not just in a technical way (even if I should have still so much to learn), but more in terms of creativity and inspiration.


– Do you have a ‘dream location’ where you would like to take photos? Which city would you like to visit for a photo session?
– I wouldn’t talk about a city, but about architects: Calatrava and Gehry, wherever they are!


– What is your favorite camera?
– I have started by chance with a Canon and I find it excellent. At the moment I’m working with a Canon 40D, but I’m dreaming about the EOS 5D Mark II.


– Did you publish any photo books and where do you expose your works on internet?
– Yes, I do. I have published a few books on Blurb: Natural/mente (June 2008), La Memoria del Segno (September 2008) in collaboration with Susanna Bassani, Alberta Dionisi, Claudio Mori and Stefano Sivieri, Abstractions ( November 2008), And that is poetry (January 2010), Berlin (January 2010) and the latest one Peonies Pavillon, that is published in April 2011. On the internet you can find my photographs on Flickr and RedBubble. I also have a channel on YouTube, where I have uploaded 3 video-slideshows with my works.

-Thank you, Rita. I wish you all the best with your photographic work.

note from 20 July 2011: Rita’s website is ritavitafinzi.com




25 Responses to “rita vita finzi :: catching the rhythm with a camera”


  1. May 3, 2011 at 2:53 pm

    A pearl among the many great selections you’ve already chosen…I love Rita’s work and her spirit. Ty for sharing…….
    J.

  2. 3 Rudolf Vlček
    May 3, 2011 at 3:00 pm

    great stuff!

  3. 5 mluisa_
    May 3, 2011 at 3:26 pm

    Lo sai già Rita che il tuo lavoro mi piace…e molto.
    Apprezzo la bella selezione che ne ha fatto qui Lina.
    E’ un piacere seguire con lo sguardo questo ritmo visivo e lasciarsi trasportare….

  4. 7 future-giraffes
    May 3, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    very nice post! really enjoyed it!

  5. 9 elen@c
    May 3, 2011 at 7:34 pm

    una scelta eccellente in un panorama così vasto e di alta qualità come è la produzione di Rita che seguo ed apprezzo moltissimo !!!

    • May 3, 2011 at 9:11 pm

      concordo, elena – lina ha un gusto davvero speciale nel “comporre” queste gallerie … grazie er la visita!
      (I agree, elena – lina has a very special taste composing these galleries – thank you very much for your visit!)

  6. May 3, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    … and thank you very much, Lina! your choice has been perfect and I am so happy to be here :-))

  7. May 3, 2011 at 10:16 pm

    “a brush that allows me to paint”…
    Rita is a fabulous artist and it is a pleasure
    to follow her work, whatever the subject might be.
    Congratulations on this great gallery!
    Btw, fantastic music choice in the video above.

  8. 13 jurek d.
    May 3, 2011 at 11:34 pm

    I know those photos and like them very much, but grouped together – they are even more impressive. Great selection….

  9. May 4, 2011 at 8:41 am

    I love this exhibition and interview. Your images and your answers all seem to have an unseen smile behind them. Not just a high standard of professionalism but also a vibrancy!
    AUGURONI!!!!!!!!!
    x

  10. May 5, 2011 at 7:42 pm

    A great selection and very difficult to realize provided that all your photos are impressive. Congratulations!

  11. 18 pannaphotos
    May 6, 2011 at 12:31 am

    extraordinary photographs, Rita, this selection is really gorgeous, so thanks to Lina and to you of course!

  12. 19 Gherm
    May 6, 2011 at 7:26 pm

    I knew most of these images. Lina made a great job as a curator.
    Congrats to both of you!

  13. May 8, 2011 at 9:13 am

    This is a nice walk in the forms with a guide : the light, always light !!!
    Congratulations Rita

  14. May 8, 2011 at 6:24 pm

    thak you all very much!🙂

  15. 22 Françoise Lucas
    May 9, 2011 at 9:59 pm

    A beautiful selection! I loved reading the interview too. Congratulations!

  16. May 12, 2011 at 7:11 pm

    thanks for your visits and commenting

  17. 24 Polah2006
    May 14, 2011 at 6:57 am

    O,o, completely missed this! Think that Rita Vita Finzy is one of the best photographers/composers of images on flickr. Nothing more to say. Just jealous…


Comments are currently closed.